Spring Break Peanut Butter Cups

Image

It is a balmy 34 degrees Fahrenheit in Pennsylvania– naturally, the ideal spring break temperature.  I have been counting down the minutes to my last class, trying to occupy myself in any ways possible other than doing actual schoolwork.  Enter- homemade peanut butter cups.

Image

As other seniors apply for jobs, receive grad school acceptance letters, and complete their honors theses, what am I up to?  Compulsively debating back and forth whether to wait until I’m home to bake, or to shell out the whopping $3 to buy overpriced butter from Wawa.  Clearly my priorities are in order.

I found this recipe on number-2-pencil.com, but added a few tweaks, just based on the ingredients I had in my room.  The white chocolate is Wilton Chocolate Melts in orange, but I’m sure experimenting with different types of chocolate (and colors!) could be a lot of fun.  I also added sprinkles on top before they completely set.  I couldn’t help myself- the mini cupcake liners were just too cute for me to handle.
Image

Obviously working for the spring break bod… enjoy!

Easy White Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
by Melissa at No. 2 Pencil


Makes about 18 peanut butter cups

1 stick of butter
1/2 cup of peanut butter (smooth or creamy depending on your preference)
1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract
1 cup of powdered sugar
1 bag (about 2 cups) of white chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli Classic White Chips)

Line a mini muffin pan with mini cupcake liners and set aside.  Melt butter and peanut butter together in microwave, for about a minute. Add vanilla and stir together well. Then add powdered sugar and stir together and set aside.

Melt white chocolate chips in microwave following directions on back of bag for microwave melting.

Spoon peanut butter mixture into cupcake liners about 3/4 of the way full, then spoon melted white chocolate on top of peanut butter mixture. Smooth or swirl the white chocolate for a pretty finish on top.

Refrigerate until set, about an hour. Then store at room temperature for 2-3 days.

Leave a Reply

